I meant, Thank You

Sorry became a word I used so often even though I meant to say was “Thank you”. I accustomed myself into saying sorry when I feel that I should’ve not talked to you because I might’ve drained your energy with my constant depressive talks. I say sorry even though it wasn’t my fault just so the other person wouldn’t go away. I say sorry even at myself. The cycle continued for so long that I can’t get it out of my system.

Then one day, I was reminded to say thank you even though I wanted so bad to apologize. It started with a simple, “Thank you for being here with me.” Then every single day I told myself to thank God even in the simplest reason. For waking up, for breathing, for walking, for the sun, for the weather, for the jeepney driver, for the things that make up my day. UNTIL I STOPPED SAYING SORRY WHEN I MEANT TO SAY THANK YOU. I felt lighter everyday and the constant voice that tells me, “It was your fault.” stopped as well. Thinking about the things a had to thank God for became my way of communication to Him and I started saying thank you to people I meet everyday. To the bus driver and conductor, the MMDA officer, the police officer, the jeepney driver, the vendor of my favorite kakanin, and to the people closest to my heart. I began changing my perspective, I saw how beautiful God made my life and how the circumstances I had for 10 years made me see the wonders God has to offer.

I saw how beautiful God made my life and how the circumstances I had for 10 years made me see the wonders God has to offer

We might have a different view onto how we see things around us. I don’t want you to change as well and be more thankful, what I wanted to impart is that a little appreciation can pass out great things to other people. You don’t need to say it as well to everyone you see; just think about it. You’re reading this, aren’t you thankful for the eyes that can read and a mind that can comprehend? Those are few things to thank God for and I’m beyond amazed! How much more of the big things that we have in the whole universe? God’s love towards us is pouring and overflowing. That’s happiness and that’s the kind of love we need.

God’s love towards us is pouring and overflowing

Did I waste your precious time reading this? I hope not. Sorry if I do, but nope I’m not sorry. I meant to say THANK YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

